Thiago, Joel Matip and every player leaving Liverpool today as Adrian announcement imminent

June 30 is a very important date in the football calendar with a number of players leaving clubs following the expiration of their contracts.

From July 1 (tomorrow), those who have been let go will be free to sign elsewhere and commence new phases in their careers. Earlier in the month, Liverpool confirmed their released list and the most high-profile names featured to be departing Anfield today are Thiago Alcantara and Joel Matip.

The latter became a cult hero having played a crucial role in Champions League, Premier League, Club World Cup and FA Cup wins, whilst the latter showed glimpses of his undoubted quality but ultimately his Anfield tenure was blighted by a succession of injuries.

Shortly after his departure was announced, Thiago took to social media to say his goodbyes to the club and its supporters, writing: "Appreciation and gratitude. They are two words that come to mind on the day I have to say goodbye to all of you, Reds.

"Thankful too. Thankful for the opportunity to have been a part of this city, this club and this community."

Despite a contract offer being made to experienced goalkeeper Adrian, it would appear that today will officially be his last as a Liverpool player too with reports claiming he is set to return to Spain and rejoin Real Betis. Given it's June 30, one would expect an announcement very soon.

Adrian, Liverpool

Adrian San Miguel Liverpool Fc warm up, UEFA Europa League 2023/2024 - Quarter-Final, Atalanta vs Liverpool Fc, Gewiss Stadium, April 18, 2024, Bergamo, Italy.

Confirmed Liverpool farewells

Along with Adrian, Academy goalkeepers Jacob Poytress and Reece Trueman have also been offered new contracts but it's yet to be communicated by the club as to whether an agreement has been reached or not.

So with that said, below are the players who are confirmed to be leaving Liverpool on June 30, 2024:

Joel Matip

Thiago Alcantara

Adam Lewis

Melkamu Frauendorf

Mateusz Musialowski

Nathan Giblin

Francis Gyimah

Luke Hewitson

Niall Osborne

Cody Pennington

Share This Article