Liverpool vs Benfica confirmed lineups for second leg of Champions League quarter-final

Liverpool face Benfica at Anfield in the second leg of the Champions League quarter-finals and here are the confirmed lineups.

Jurgen Klopp's Liverpool are 3-1 up on aggregate against Benfica heading into the second leg of the Champions League quarter-final.

Goals from Ibrahima Konate and Sadio Mane put Liverpool 2-0 up in the first half in Lisbon but a second half goal from Darwin Nunez kept the tie alive.

Thankfully for Liverpool, a late goal from Luis Diaz gave the Reds a much needed two-goal advantage heading into the second leg.

The Reds are coming into this game on the back of a 2-2 draw against Premier League leaders Manchester City, meanwhile, Benfica beat Belenenses SAD 3-1 thanks to a hattrick from their star man, Nunez.

After Villarreal beat German champions Bayern Munich 2-1 to advance to the semi-finals of the Champions League, whoever wins this game will face Unai Emery's side.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the bracket, Chelsea were knocked out by Real Madrid despite an impressive fightback from Thomas Tuchel's side.

Manchester City face off against Diego Simeone's Atletico Madrid in the Spanish capital tonight as they will be hoping to capitalise on their 1-0 advantage from the first leg.

With all that in mind, here are the confirmed Liverpool and Benfica teams for tonight's game.

Liverpool team

Alisson, Joe Gomez, Joel Matip, Kostas Tsimikas, Jordan Henderson, James Milner, Naby Keita, Luis Diaz, Roberto Firmino, Diogo Jota.

Liverpool substitutes

Caoimhin Kelleher, Fabinho, Virgil van Dijk, Thiago Alcantara, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Curtis Jones, Andy Robertson, Divock Origi, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Harvey Elliott.

Benfica team

Odysseas, Gilberto, Otamendi, Vertonghen, Grimaldo, Weigl, Taarabt, Everton, D.Goncalves, G. Ramon, Darwin Nunez.

Benfica substitutes

Helton, Valentino, Morato, Pedro Álvaro, André Almeida, Meïte, Paulo Bernardo, João Mário, Nemanja, Gil Dias, Seferovic e Yaremchuk.

Share This Article