Benfica vs Liverpool confirmed lineups | UEFA Champions League quarter-finals

Liverpool face Benfica in the first leg of the UEFA Champions League quarter-finals today and here are the confirmed teams.

Benfica are hoping to get past the quarter-finals of the Champions League for the first time since the 1989/90 season, where they lost in the final to AC Milan.

However, it is going to be a difficult task, to say the least. Liverpool are not just favourites to beat Benfica, they're one of the favourites to win the entire competition.

Benfica's manager Nélson Veríssimo, would've hoped for a much better result leading into this game. The Portuguese side lost to S.C. Braga 3-2.

However, they will take a few positives from that game. The Eagles' star man Darwin Nunez started the game on the bench but after being 2-0 down after the first 45 minutes, the Uruguayan came on and changed the game.

He scored a penalty to get Benfica back in the game then he assisted the equaliser to complete the comeback. Unfortunately, Braga managed to score a third and final goal to kill off the game.

Liverpool's result was much better than Benfica's. Despite not being at their very best, Jurgen Klopp's men cruised to a 2-0 victory against relegation candidates Watford, thanks to goals from Diogo Jota and Fabinho.

Klopp's men will be hoping for a similar result today in Lisbon. With all that in mind, here is today's confirmed lineups for both teams.

Liverpool team

Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ibrahima Konate, Virgil van Dijk, Andy Robertson, Fabinho, Naby Keita, Thiago, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Luis Diaz.

Liverpool substitutes

Caoimhin Kelleher, James Milner, Roberto Firmino, Joe Gomez, Jordan Henderson, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Curtis Jones, Takumi Minamino, Diogo Jota, Kostas Tsimikas, Joel Matip, Harvey Elliott.

Benfica team

Odysseas, Gilberto, Otamendi, Vertonghen, Grimaldo, Weigl, Taarabt, Rafa, Everton, Ramos, Nunez.

Benfica substitutes

Helton Leite, Valentino, Morato, André Almeida, Meïte, João Mário, Paulo Bernardo, Diogo Gonçalves, Gil Dias, Nemanja, Seferovic e Yaremchuk.

Share This Article